Writing Prompt for Kids & Teens #17

Posted on Updated on

Saying “Goodbye”

I live a long way from home and I visit my family once a year.  In fact, I have just been with my family for a few weeks.  Now it’s time to return to where I live.  So yesterday and today I said goodbye to my grandparents and parents.  I think it gets harder every time.  It’s like setting a boulder on my heart and pretending that there’s no weight at all and that I can still breath.

Have you ever had to say “goodbye” to someone that you knew you wouldn’t see for a long time?  Imagine that you are explaining it to a friend that’s never had to experience it before.  Describe what it feels like and use your notes to construct your poem.

Musical Writing Prompt #11

“Goodbye”  performed by Ursula McLoughlin (2005) & The Kieran Wilde Quintet

OR

“Here Without You” by 3 Doors Down

Tell Me What You Think

